
JANUARY 31, 2005 at 10:54 PM
Posted by GERI
Source: JKRowling.com
Harry Potter author JK Rowling has updated her official web site with comments relating to the Harry Potter e-book scam that happened recently. She has also squashed a rumor
about her home in Edinburgh as well as updating her Extra Stuff
page with an item about owls.
Rowling on the e-book scam
:
As many of you will know from reputable Harry Potter fan sites who reported this story, a site called www.harrybooks.info (now closed) has been offering what it alleged to be an e-book version of 'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince' - my thanks go to the Leaky Cauldron, in particular, for promptly warning fans what was going on.
You should NEVER trust any Harry Potter e-books offered for download from the internet or on P2P/file-trading networks. Setting aside the fact that these books are illegal (there are no authorised HP e-books to date), they may infect your computer with viruses, leave you vulnerable to the dangers of hacking and/or credit card fraud and may also contain content that has nothing to do with Harry Potter, to say the least.
I would bet the original manuscript of HPB itself that this will not be the last attempt to con HP fans before the publication of book six on 16th July. Please, please protect yourselves, your computers and your credit cards and do not fall for these scams. The only genuine copies of Harry Potter remain the authorised traditional book or audio tapes/cassettes/CDs distributed through my publishers. Similarly, the only sources of release news you should trust are this website or official spokespeople such as representatives of my publishers or agent (details in 'Links section). CONSTANT VIGILANCE!
UPDATE: Rowling has also added
a new Wizard of the Month: Artemisia Lufkin (1754 – 1825) First witch to become Minister for Magic.
Reader Comments (212)
Your Thoughts
click to write...
Copyright © 2002-2009 HPANA. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. ![]()
HPANA is an unofficial fan site, in no way affiliated with J.K. Rowling,
Scholastic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing or Warner Bros. Entertainment. All
trademarks and copyrighted material are the property of their respective owners.
About HPANA | Movie 6 | Send a news tip | Contact us | Privacy policy
Professor
Points: 1080
hippiejane says:
I couldn't live with myself if I read a fake or stolen HP book, those people who start it up are pathetic. They should feel ashamed of themselves !
CONSTANT VIGILANCE! (I love that term)
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 10:28 PM EST
Auror
Points: 3252
Tenshi says:
It really does make you sick to your stomach, doesn't it? Anything for money... Come on! Love makes the world go round!
Thanks so much Jo! Only a few days after your baby and you're still worrying about us! Thank you!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 10:46 PM EST
Points: 15101
xeon says:
Well, im glad she took into account the recent events.
But, smart people would know not to do that.
But, sometimes temtation will get the better of all of us.
Oh well.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 10:49 PM EST
Prof. of Cultural Literacy
Points: 4469
PowerGranger says:
It's very kind of JKR to take the time out to underline the warnings we've received about these scammers. I'm sure she is pursuing more than just the shutting down of these fake e-book sites, as there are a whole lot of laws being broken here. If she doesn't come down hard on it in every case, it's going to keep happening and JKR has a lot to protect, including her dedicated fans, whom she obviously cares a lot about!
I'm not super surprised to see JKR "visiting with us" this soon after the arrival of Mackenzie. You always need rest after a baby is born, but since babies sleep very erratically the first few months, as I well know, it's kind of nice to reach out to the rest of the world when you get a spare moment (oh, and it's also nice to sleep!)
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 10:59 PM EST
Mediwitch
Points: 2608
nickyole1 says:
I'm glad that she updated her site to state this information. I just hope that no one will believe these HP book scams anymore! I can't wait for July 16th!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 11:41 PM EST
Hogwarts Psychologist
Points: 4236
Patronus Wiz says:
Oooh, updates~ I've been waiting. I'm going over there right now. The e-book scam was ridiculous! I am glad she made some comments about it.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 12:14 AM EST
Witch
Points: 832
latinabloomlova says:
I say it once again. This is like the best way for JKR to let everyone know the truth. We know it's the truth through her site and she keeps us updated through it. God i love that site!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 12:39 AM EST
Order of Merlin, 3rd Class
Points: 1508
Cute Petil says:
CONSTANT VIGILANCE! Oh how i love that phrase. *laughs* Anywayz yeah JK has a very fair point, people should really protect themselves against credit card scams and computer hackers, the people who do it are just pathetic and need to get a life!!
Coolness :)
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 12:41 AM EST
Cryptologist
Points: 3018
Veronica Smethley says:
Thanks for updating your website Ms. Rowling! Hope you continue to update it!
I just wanted to say that we do trust only you and your website and nobody else not even the publishers (!) untill you confirm whatever they say !!
Thanks again and CONSTANT VIGILANCE!
Regards
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 2:08 AM EST
Auror
Points: 2449
*starfox* says:
It's so sad what people will do for money. At least the word is getting around now and people will be more aware of the scams.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 2:31 AM EST
Student
Points: 202
Emily_Strange says:
How sad is that. Putting HP & THBP on the net before it is even released
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 2:46 AM EST
Professor
Points: 1002
GredWeasley says:
All thouse download-a-book-pages, where you can get things that aren't released yet are criminal in my opinion.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 3:26 AM EST
Magical Experimentalist
Points: 6699
Preet says:
It's very sad that many people commit scams of different popular things. This is a CRIME. I just read this news. It's good of Leaky Cauldron and HPANA for warning the HP fans about it.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 4:00 AM EST
Witch
Points: 569
HP_Nutter says:
I never trusted it one bit. Its a good thing we ain't idiots
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 5:53 AM EST
Witch
Points: 756
MeerzBeerz says:
Very good updates, thanks for the warnings. And congrats again for the new bub!! but who would get it now, dont these people get it. Only in july!!!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 6:14 AM EST
Head Girl
Points: 405
DracoLover says:
Why would people try to get it early? They should know there is no way you can get the book before it comes out. well, at least we know the truth now.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 7:17 AM EST
Muggle Representative
Points: 9117
The Lime says:
Yes! CONSTANT VIGILANCE, as Rowling says. I can't understand those people who do this. HP E-books... I prefer real books!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 7:38 AM EST
Profesora de la Paz
Points: 2824
Sassafras says:
I read this yesterday, thanks to our wonderful staff who provide updates listed on other HP sites. I can't believe that somebody would stoop so low as to offer fake HP texts.
I will have to go check out the new wizard/witch of the month!
carol_dteenprincess ~ I love your avatar!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 7:47 AM EST
Points: 100
rea says:
By the way, JKR updated her site again, at least the portion on Owls. It was not like that when I visited it 9 hours ago. She expanded it a bit. Not just the keeping of Owl warning but now it includes superstitious beliefs about Owls.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 8:07 AM EST
Hogwart's Jedi Princess
Points: 3491
Darth Amanda says:
I cant belive anyone would fall for such a scam. I'm glad she has updated her webpage. I will have to go look at all the cool stuff on the Extras. I hope she answers some of our questions in the Things You Wish She Would Answer thread.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 8:20 AM EST
Witch
Points: 916
SnapesSlave says:
I'm actually slighly suprised that people fall for scams like that. As bad as i want the book in my hands now im not going to pay for anything untill said date. As far as the file sharing, before OotP came out I got a really great fan fiction from file sharing. Granted, it wasn't OotP like it said it was but it held me over none the less. The updates to JK's site are great!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 8:46 AM EST
Order of Merlin, 1st Class
Points: 1941
tsvety says:
It's nice of JKR to give people official warning about that!!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 8:59 AM EST
Head Girl
Points: 449
Nemevii says:
I think it is unfair of those people who try to get people to buy the e-book. They just want to make money out of the potter hype. Fans do not appreciate to be fooled.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 9:04 AM EST
Witch
Points: 508
SiriusAboutHp says:
It's so sad people have to create these terrible scams. I think it is so cool Jo warned those who didn't know about the scam yet.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 9:33 AM EST
You Know Who
Points: 3006
Hurry Patter says:
JKR should have a heart to heart talk with people at lightmaker. It seems like a few mistake has been happening at her site - lots of typos, blue candy, vanishing content on year changeover, files not uploaded in time.
I believe that she needs better service from lightmaker than what she is currently getting now.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 9:38 AM EST
Witch
Points: 710
Jänku says:
Ok
I have all the Hp books film, but I have never downlodede them!!!!!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 9:57 AM EST
Back to top of page