
JANUARY 31, 2005 at 10:54 PM
Posted by GERI
Source: JKRowling.com
Harry Potter author JK Rowling has updated her official web site with comments relating to the Harry Potter e-book scam that happened recently. She has also squashed a rumor
about her home in Edinburgh as well as updating her Extra Stuff
page with an item about owls.
Rowling on the e-book scam
:
As many of you will know from reputable Harry Potter fan sites who reported this story, a site called www.harrybooks.info (now closed) has been offering what it alleged to be an e-book version of 'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince' - my thanks go to the Leaky Cauldron, in particular, for promptly warning fans what was going on.
You should NEVER trust any Harry Potter e-books offered for download from the internet or on P2P/file-trading networks. Setting aside the fact that these books are illegal (there are no authorised HP e-books to date), they may infect your computer with viruses, leave you vulnerable to the dangers of hacking and/or credit card fraud and may also contain content that has nothing to do with Harry Potter, to say the least.
I would bet the original manuscript of HPB itself that this will not be the last attempt to con HP fans before the publication of book six on 16th July. Please, please protect yourselves, your computers and your credit cards and do not fall for these scams. The only genuine copies of Harry Potter remain the authorised traditional book or audio tapes/cassettes/CDs distributed through my publishers. Similarly, the only sources of release news you should trust are this website or official spokespeople such as representatives of my publishers or agent (details in 'Links section). CONSTANT VIGILANCE!
UPDATE: Rowling has also added
a new Wizard of the Month: Artemisia Lufkin (1754 – 1825) First witch to become Minister for Magic.
Reader Comments (212)
Your Thoughts
click to write...
Copyright © 2002-2010 HPANA. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. ![]()
HPANA is an unofficial fan site, in no way affiliated with J.K. Rowling,
Scholastic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing or Warner Bros. Entertainment. All
trademarks and copyrighted material are the property of their respective owners.
About HPANA | Movie 6 | Send a news tip | Contact us | Privacy policy
Witch
Points: 710
Jänku says:
Ok
I have all the Hp books film, but I have never downlodede them!!!!!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 9:57 AM EST
Divine Intervention
Points: 2619
PhantomFingers says:
I think it's sick the way that people try and prey on on other people, and they're also very sad!!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 10:12 AM EST
Weird Sisters Guitarist
Points: 3573
Prof. Sk8ergirl says:
Wow!JKR really rocks!I mean, with her new ababy and everything, she is still so devoted to all her fans!Three cheers!
LLTA
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 10:34 AM EST
Wizard
Points: 761
Aberforth12358 says:
What about that Sneakoscope though? Do you think it holds any clue to HBP?
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 11:25 AM EST
Witch
Points: 594
KarateKid says:
I can't understand how people can do that! Anyway, good job they warned us - I was going to look for the books online because a mates brrowed mine... so... Thanks!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 11:32 AM EST
Auror
Points: 4081
RON's all up in heRmiONe says:
Scamming is such a horrible thing to do. People really can't trust the internet sometimes. We have to listen to JK and we will be alright, she knows the truth!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 11:52 AM EST
Witch
Points: 654
Millennia says:
It is unfortunate that there are people out there who like to scam others. However, it doesn't take a lot of intelligence to know that you can not download a book online if the book hasn't even been printed yet...duh! Anyway, I will be waiting in line for the midnight release. I would start waiting right now if it would speed it up! :)
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 11:55 AM EST
Witch
Points: 987
Lady Cortésimoe says:
I think it's wrong to trick people like that. I wasen't planing on downloading it myselves, but I'm sure some people thought about it. Very nice of JRK to tell us not to.
And to those woh made this up: SHAME ON YOU!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 12:35 PM EST
Witch
Points: 562
nearly-headless-spring says:
It's simply aweful to take advantage of people like that. Personally I would never give my card number out on the internet unless it is a certified trusted site (like Alivans or Amazon) but I feel so sorry for the people that fell for it. Don't these people have anything better to do than create stupid scams? Honestly, they need to get hobbies or something.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 1:02 PM EST
Overqualified Jester
Points: 2783
jurassicfatt says:
I agree that it's a bit stupid for people to fall for scams like that. I don't understand what they're thinking. On the other side of things, people will download mp3s of a famous band several weeks before their album is officially released and think nothing of it, when it's just as likely that there is still some production stuff that will be done to the tracks.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 1:05 PM EST
The Golden Snidget
Points: 3159
Mrs. Phineas Nigellus says:
I'm glad JKR is taking action about the book scam. I know some authors would just stand around and let people think they're buying a book when, in fact they're not. I think it was a good idea to do something about it personally rather than wait for your publishers or agent to pressure you into it.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 1:17 PM EST
Magical Sanitary Supplier
Points: 2518
5225 says:
That's a very thoughtful action JK Rowling has taken, considering the many die hard fans who are willing to do anything to be the first to read book 6. A job well done!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 2:12 PM EST
Squib
Points: 103
Siriuslypotter says:
Good on jk dont trust any websites who say they have e-books for sale.
its just a waste of money
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 2:49 PM EST
Muggle
Points: 45
harry_potter_jul31 says:
good news, july 16 is 5 months away, so i am sure everyone will wait till 16th to read the book and squash all such stupid sites which claim they have ebook of HBP
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 2:58 PM EST
Auror
Points: 2563
School Governor says:
I agree that there will probably be more scams to try to fool genuine HP fans in the next few months. Sad but true. CONSTANT VIGILENCE! and be patient.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 3:14 PM EST
Witch
Points: 972
DaraDiana_Victoria says:
i really enjoy the fact the Jo has just had a baby and yet stil finds time for her fans. i think its great of her to talk to us, and even more great that she has a website to keep us busy so that we dont loose our minds waiting for her books!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 3:33 PM EST
Eclipse Fairy
Points: 4434
luna13 says:
I think that its really stupid that people make scams like that. I think that Jo is write Im glad that she actually has time to talk to mere fans like me!hehe. GO JO!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 3:41 PM EST
Wizard
Points: 581
HP biggest fan says:
Omly a complete plonker like me would fall for that (only joking) It's impossible to get the HBP electronically for two reasons,
1-HBP comes out on July 16th 2005
2-There are no electronic Harrt Potter book available
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 4:02 PM EST
Witch
Points: 728
Hermione Double says:
These kinds of warnings are always good to give.
I don't understand why people would stoop so low as to conning people out of their money.
It's so wrong.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 4:15 PM EST
Muggle
Points: 37
book_addict says:
In this day and age, we want everything better, sooner, easier. I know it's hard to wait, but we all have to. HBP doesn't come out until July 16th for crying out loud! Anyone who thinks they can scam people with that kind of thing (or anyone who falls for that junk) is (excuse the expression) just plain stupid! Anything like that which isn't on Jo's website is most likely fake.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 4:37 PM EST
Mrs. Ronald Weasley
Points: 2606
hplover234 says:
I hate it that people do stuff like that.
I think that it is so stupid.
Yeah!!! More updates. I can't wait to check it out.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 4:44 PM EST
Muggle
Points: 11
~*Nikkole*~ says:
I am glad that you shared that information with us before any of us actually went out and did that. Why are people like that? Do they really have to ruin it for everyone else?
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 4:49 PM EST
Squib
Points: 117
Gwendolyn says:
Ooh thankyou for telling me about the update, I just checked it out.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 4:54 PM EST
Witch
Points: 874
Together Forever, H/Hr... says:
Ok... am I the only one here who wouldn't fall for that sort of thing? I know that it could be really convincing and all but I mean get serious.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 5:03 PM EST
My Destiny Awaits
Points: 10268
Goddess of Love and Evil says:
JK is really great! She is devoted to her fans and tells the truth! (unlike those stupid scamers)
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 5:18 PM EST
Princess of Nargles
Points: 4137
hp_fan206 says:
Thanks for the info..... but seriously it should be evident that sites such as that arent reliable.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 5:33 PM EST
Back to top of page