
JANUARY 31, 2005 at 10:54 PM
Posted by GERI
Source: JKRowling.com
Harry Potter author JK Rowling has updated her official web site with comments relating to the Harry Potter e-book scam that happened recently. She has also squashed a rumor
about her home in Edinburgh as well as updating her Extra Stuff
page with an item about owls.
Rowling on the e-book scam
:
As many of you will know from reputable Harry Potter fan sites who reported this story, a site called www.harrybooks.info (now closed) has been offering what it alleged to be an e-book version of 'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince' - my thanks go to the Leaky Cauldron, in particular, for promptly warning fans what was going on.
You should NEVER trust any Harry Potter e-books offered for download from the internet or on P2P/file-trading networks. Setting aside the fact that these books are illegal (there are no authorised HP e-books to date), they may infect your computer with viruses, leave you vulnerable to the dangers of hacking and/or credit card fraud and may also contain content that has nothing to do with Harry Potter, to say the least.
I would bet the original manuscript of HPB itself that this will not be the last attempt to con HP fans before the publication of book six on 16th July. Please, please protect yourselves, your computers and your credit cards and do not fall for these scams. The only genuine copies of Harry Potter remain the authorised traditional book or audio tapes/cassettes/CDs distributed through my publishers. Similarly, the only sources of release news you should trust are this website or official spokespeople such as representatives of my publishers or agent (details in 'Links section). CONSTANT VIGILANCE!
UPDATE: Rowling has also added
a new Wizard of the Month: Artemisia Lufkin (1754 – 1825) First witch to become Minister for Magic.
Reader Comments (212)
Your Thoughts
click to write...
Copyright © 2002-2009 HPANA. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. ![]()
HPANA is an unofficial fan site, in no way affiliated with J.K. Rowling,
Scholastic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing or Warner Bros. Entertainment. All
trademarks and copyrighted material are the property of their respective owners.
About HPANA | Movie 6 | Send a news tip | Contact us | Privacy policy
Princess of Nargles
Points: 4137
hp_fan206 says:
Thanks for the info..... but seriously it should be evident that sites such as that arent reliable.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 5:33 PM EST
Squib
Points: 148
abyscalkapostrophe_x says:
It's crazy for those people to fall for those scams. I feel horrible for the people who have though. Let's see: Get a computer virus and maybe even your credit card number stolen, or wait until July. I'll think I'll wait.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 6:04 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 3rd Class
Points: 1430
littlejoe72 says:
I'm glad she's warning everyone because those scams are nasty! I would never trust any of those things but I guess some people did...
nat
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 6:10 PM EST
Witch
Points: 885
Daphne Greengrass says:
How nice of her! She's right you know. We must be extremely careful! "CONSTANT VIGILANCE!" he,he!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 6:41 PM EST
Head Girl
Points: 482
HP4Evr says:
I think its awfull that people would actually do that stuff! :(
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 7:01 PM EST
Professor
Points: 1031
HPfanatic10 says:
Jo is right no one should download books or give their credit card numbers to people on your computer unless you know you can totally trust them. Anything is ovbviously illegal if you can buy it before it is even released.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 7:03 PM EST
Muggle
Points: 27
Kathryn Malfoy says:
thanx 4 the warning jo! CONSTANT VIGILANCE!!!! good words 2 live by.....jo- u rock so hard!!!
ps- erm, thats an, uh, interesting icon Rox My Sox. : /
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 7:45 PM EST
Lady of the Rings
Points: 4116
Padfoot4387 says:
*glares at everyone with half-moon glasses stare*
CONSTANT VIGILANCE, Y'ALL!
Seriously, I applaud JK Rowling for coming onto her site and updating it about the e-book scam thing just after her baby has been born. That shows a lot of devotion to her fans, and trust me, it's well-appreciated, JK!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 8:19 PM EST
Witch
Points: 741
Auror Tonks says:
Ohhhh! That reminds me, i have to visit jkrowling.com soon!
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 8:40 PM EST
Witch
Points: 518
tonks06 says:
Oh good she's updated. I will have to go read that post about owls! I wonder when she will answer the poll question?
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 10:17 PM EST
The Faerie Queene
Points: 3277
merri maven says:
I really hope that the people behind the e-book scams are caught, because they must be making a lot of money if they are continuously warning us with these press releases.
Posted Feb 1, 2005 at 10:49 PM EST
Crookshanks Caretaker
Points: 3836
hermionefan1 says:
It makes me mad when people do that, its so wrong. Scamming is selfish and it should come back three fold on the person.
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 1:51 AM EST
Mad Cow Breeder
Points: 8481
Lord Of The Cows says:
The virus idea is true. Loads of people would do that and then they would get it. If only there were no hackers around. Internet would be much better.
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 6:55 AM EST
Dan Radcliffe's Slave
Points: 9375
Rados says:
I'm glad she warned everyone about that because some people would get scammed. It would be interesting to see what you'd get instead of HBP though.
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 7:43 AM EST
Keeper of the Faeries
Points: 5239
juliebug04 says:
I think that is just horrible that people will do that...but they do it all the time because there are always people that will get taken in by it. If it sounds too good to be true--it probably is!
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 9:50 AM EST
Professor
Points: 1127
Elrond says:
Hey that sounds great, I reckon I'm goning to check it out, thanks for the update!
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 10:43 AM EST
Witch
Points: 618
MONICH says:
well, thats just bad that someone esle pretent to sale something that is not the real book, well i was thinking a few moments ago, that i am going to get a job in a bookstore for the month of june and try to sneak in to see if at least i can read the first chapter of the book while im working. thats not a great idea!!!!
well i just want to read the book as everyone else!!!!
hugs from here
MONICA ...
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 11:02 AM EST
Head Girl
Points: 491
star_dust_469 says:
It's sad that people are trying to exploit such a wonderful thing like her books. They are not only trying to exploit that but our love of the story and characters.
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 12:54 PM EST
Auror
Points: 2185
Potterfan5 says:
I appreciate the effort put forth from Mrs. Rowling, having a baby and all must take a lot out of her.(no pun intended.) I wish she would have spent it on something a bit more interesting though. Since she actually took the time to do it, I really wish she would have given us some clue to the next book. At least answer the poll, since it has been up there for over a month. I shouldn't complain at all, she gives us way more than she should.
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 2:08 PM EST
Witch
Points: 849
Konkskäpp says:
Why people put scams in internet????
People don´t trust that anyway(I think that, tahts why it could be wrong. I don´t know that very well).
That waht J.K.R. write her site is very intresting.
People are very lucky, who understand english very well.
They can read HBP soon, but I must wait for September or
Detsember.
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 2:23 PM EST
Gryffindor Ghost
Points: 9860
Professor Cat says:
Very interesting Jo.
Thats one of the reasons why I don't buy off of the net, you just don't know who you are buying from do you?
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 2:23 PM EST
Muggle
Points: 91
numbskull816 says:
Whoever would actually believe that you could get HBP before the release date would have to be the stupidest people on earth!
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 4:15 PM EST
Prefect
Points: 343
Buggzy says:
Isn't it sad that we live in a world where you do have to constantly 'look out for yourself'!! There always has to be that one person out there thats just all to willing to take advantage of everyone else.
Well, anyway, Thanks JK for your concern and advice!!
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 5:25 PM EST
Ravenclaw Mastermind
Points: 9743
Isilwen Ciryatan says:
Why does anyone bother putting up a fake e-book? I'm just as anxious as the next person, but I can bear the wait. As always, I love it when JK updates her web site. It gives us something new and refreshing to read.
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 6:00 PM EST
Prefect
Points: 340
magiviking says:
That's cool that she talked about it. I never would have bought it anyway, because something like that happened with the 5th book.
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 6:52 PM EST
Prefect
Points: 335
tre0682 says:
Who wants a book you can not hold and take with you every were.
Posted Feb 2, 2005 at 7:51 PM EST
Back to top of page