
JANUARY 31, 2005 at 10:54 PM
Posted by GERI
Source: JKRowling.com
Harry Potter author JK Rowling has updated her official web site with comments relating to the Harry Potter e-book scam that happened recently. She has also squashed a rumor
about her home in Edinburgh as well as updating her Extra Stuff
page with an item about owls.
Rowling on the e-book scam
:
As many of you will know from reputable Harry Potter fan sites who reported this story, a site called www.harrybooks.info (now closed) has been offering what it alleged to be an e-book version of 'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince' - my thanks go to the Leaky Cauldron, in particular, for promptly warning fans what was going on.
You should NEVER trust any Harry Potter e-books offered for download from the internet or on P2P/file-trading networks. Setting aside the fact that these books are illegal (there are no authorised HP e-books to date), they may infect your computer with viruses, leave you vulnerable to the dangers of hacking and/or credit card fraud and may also contain content that has nothing to do with Harry Potter, to say the least.
I would bet the original manuscript of HPB itself that this will not be the last attempt to con HP fans before the publication of book six on 16th July. Please, please protect yourselves, your computers and your credit cards and do not fall for these scams. The only genuine copies of Harry Potter remain the authorised traditional book or audio tapes/cassettes/CDs distributed through my publishers. Similarly, the only sources of release news you should trust are this website or official spokespeople such as representatives of my publishers or agent (details in 'Links section). CONSTANT VIGILANCE!
UPDATE: Rowling has also added
a new Wizard of the Month: Artemisia Lufkin (1754 – 1825) First witch to become Minister for Magic.
Reader Comments (212)
Your Thoughts
click to write...
Copyright © 2002-2009 HPANA. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. ![]()
HPANA is an unofficial fan site, in no way affiliated with J.K. Rowling,
Scholastic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing or Warner Bros. Entertainment. All
trademarks and copyrighted material are the property of their respective owners.
About HPANA | Movie 6 | Send a news tip | Contact us | Privacy policy
Witch
Points: 704
Half Blood Veela says:
People should not fall for dumb tricks like that!!! That is a very hateful thing to do! Darn those con artists!!!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:04 PM EST
Witch
Points: 945
The World Is My Own says:
Cool updates.
Thanks JK
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:04 PM EST
Witch
Points: 583
bella eiram says:
It's really sad that some people tried to do that with Harry Potter. At least the site has been shut down and that most people were warned in time.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:05 PM EST
Auror
Points: 3345
Frito says:
I can't believe that people can be so low as to fake a book for ONLY their profit. They're real scumbags. I also can't believe that people fall for this!!!!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:08 PM EST
True Gryffie
Points: 2581
Harry_Potter_Lover says:
Why do people try to scame other people? Cant we all just get along! Hahaha! Looks like we cant...hehehehe!
~*~Grand Poobah~*~
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:11 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 1st Class
Points: 1921
Kirathena says:
I'm glad she cares enough to post info like this. And, it is sad the way some people take advantage of others.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:16 PM EST
Witch
Points: 733
PotterHoney says:
I remember seeing the add about an HP e-book, but I thought it was rubbish, and I wasn't really paying attention... It's a good thing there are people (unlike me:D) who realize what's going on! Thanks to Jo and the Leaky Cauldron!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:16 PM EST
Forgetful Werewolf
Points: 14831
Patronus_Potter says:
Good of her to give an official warning on the matter :)
And that was an utterly despicable thing to do, i'm really quite cross at the people who run that website!!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:18 PM EST
Harry's Mental Advisor
Points: 19432
Smileyradcliffe says:
It is just plain stupid to put out scams like that. I mean just wait till july 16th comes and get it when everyone else does.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:18 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 2nd Class
Points: 1780
TheOtherMinister says:
I was waiting for this month's update in jkr.com. People must remember that Jo is a humble person and she isn´t going to have a 15 bedroom house.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:21 PM EST
Witch
Points: 621
GarryDotter89 says:
It's really good that J.K. Rowling talked about those stupid, stupid people who did that e-book scam on her website. They must be really thick. What a bunch of yabbos, tricking people like that. I can never trust anything that requires giving a credit card anyway, but it's still very wrong of them to try and pull a fast one on innocent Harry Potter fans. Besides, I personally prefer a thick Harry Potter book that's hot off the presses and ready to be opened. I just love reading books.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:28 PM EST
Auror
Points: 2419
Gwenyth says:
It is terrible how people are so deceptive. I hope that who ever set up that scam gets whats coming to them. I Firmly stand by JK and all her true fans when I say: Shame on all those involved with the scam. Yeah!!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:30 PM EST
Ethereal Fairy
Points: 3077
harrypotterfreak_4life says:
I just think that its sad that there are those types of people who just want to take advantage of another persons love of something and want to make money of it or something.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:32 PM EST
Witch
Points: 537
em_watson_rox_on says:
it hurts to know that there are such losers out there in the world. but, what really concerns me is that some people would actually buy something that doesn't even come out til' July. At least jk knows it and talked about it.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:35 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 4th Class
Points: 1206
*Jinxed* says:
It's horrible how these people are taking advantage of us fans in knowing how desperately we want the book! But us fans also should know by now that the only real copies of the book are in paper or a listening tape, and are not available before release date. It's great Jo has updated her site, though!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:38 PM EST
Muggle
Points: 30
devoted2tom says:
People do the stupidest things that aren't even funny.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:49 PM EST
Witch
Points: 809
~Hermione <3's Ron~ says:
Good, i knew these e-books were not true, and i was waiting for JKR to say something about it. I love her! That "constant vigliance" thing she says at the end was really funny. im going to go on her website right now actually!
mwa!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:56 PM EST
Squib
Points: 179
scurvy-kidd-theruff says:
Why would you want to read an HP ebook anyway? I mean, I think it would be much more satisfying to read it the normal way! 'Cause ya know you can always go the library if you don't want to buy the book.
And it's great when JK updates her sites. I think it must be annoying to have to address all the rumours that fly around! Her website is pretty nifty, though!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 6:56 PM EST
Head Girl
Points: 439
mrs_r.weasley says:
I'm really glad that JRK is finding the time to update us on certain things considering how busy she must be at the moment with her new baby girl. Thanks JRK!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:06 PM EST
Witch
Points: 790
The Flying Ford Anglia says:
I can't believe people would actually fall for that. It's unbelievable what people will do to get HP books. At least it got cleared up rather quickly.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:09 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 4th Class
Points: 1208
danradcliffelovr says:
I hope not too many hp fans fell for that. I'm glad to say that I wasn't one of those people.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:13 PM EST
Wizard
Points: 864
emmasboy4ever says:
Thanks for the heads up everyone.appreciate it..phewww thats a relief..man people who do this are frauds and not kool at all.they should be ashamed of themselves..urghhh...oh well thanks Guys and girls from the staff of hpana.com...Emma rocks!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:14 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 2nd Class
Points: 1737
HermyG13 says:
I need to go to her site now. I was wondering when she was going to update it! I can't believe those horrible people with the e-books.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:17 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 1st Class
Points: 1805
Swimangel57 says:
Awesome!! I'm so glad that she pointed this out. I know that everyone else already has, but maybe since it is coming from her, people will believe it. I hope this scam stops!!!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:21 PM EST
The Dark Knight
Points: 5789
minister for magic says:
I guess JK has upset about the matter. The people who make those fake e-books are pretty pathetic.
I too wouldn't be surprised if it happen again.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:21 PM EST
Points: 386
hprelic says:
I'm suprised that anyone would have believed that there was an HP e-book. It would be to good to be true. It won't be released until July 16 JK Rowling told us that before and if you don't trust her for info about the books I don't know who you trust.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:30 PM EST
Back to top of page