
JANUARY 31, 2005 at 10:54 PM
Posted by GERI
Source: JKRowling.com
Harry Potter author JK Rowling has updated her official web site with comments relating to the Harry Potter e-book scam that happened recently. She has also squashed a rumor
about her home in Edinburgh as well as updating her Extra Stuff
page with an item about owls.
Rowling on the e-book scam
:
As many of you will know from reputable Harry Potter fan sites who reported this story, a site called www.harrybooks.info (now closed) has been offering what it alleged to be an e-book version of 'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince' - my thanks go to the Leaky Cauldron, in particular, for promptly warning fans what was going on.
You should NEVER trust any Harry Potter e-books offered for download from the internet or on P2P/file-trading networks. Setting aside the fact that these books are illegal (there are no authorised HP e-books to date), they may infect your computer with viruses, leave you vulnerable to the dangers of hacking and/or credit card fraud and may also contain content that has nothing to do with Harry Potter, to say the least.
I would bet the original manuscript of HPB itself that this will not be the last attempt to con HP fans before the publication of book six on 16th July. Please, please protect yourselves, your computers and your credit cards and do not fall for these scams. The only genuine copies of Harry Potter remain the authorised traditional book or audio tapes/cassettes/CDs distributed through my publishers. Similarly, the only sources of release news you should trust are this website or official spokespeople such as representatives of my publishers or agent (details in 'Links section). CONSTANT VIGILANCE!
UPDATE: Rowling has also added
a new Wizard of the Month: Artemisia Lufkin (1754 – 1825) First witch to become Minister for Magic.
Reader Comments (212)
Your Thoughts
click to write...
Copyright © 2002-2009 HPANA. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. ![]()
HPANA is an unofficial fan site, in no way affiliated with J.K. Rowling,
Scholastic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing or Warner Bros. Entertainment. All
trademarks and copyrighted material are the property of their respective owners.
About HPANA | Movie 6 | Send a news tip | Contact us | Privacy policy
Points: 386
hprelic says:
I'm suprised that anyone would have believed that there was an HP e-book. It would be to good to be true. It won't be released until July 16 JK Rowling told us that before and if you don't trust her for info about the books I don't know who you trust.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:30 PM EST
Witch
Points: 696
quidditch_seeker says:
That's cool. Good to know. Why would a book be released online before it was released in print? Logic... it's a good thing.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:36 PM EST
Professor
Points: 1198
Head-of-the-Order says:
Are there really people stupid enough to think that she would allow this?
I mean, everything about the upcoming books has been protected like Fort Knox and then all of the sudden you can just get it online?
PUH - LEASE People!!!!
Get a clue!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:45 PM EST
Wind Made Solid
Points: 2579
GryffindorGrad99 says:
It's frustrating that people use great things like Harry Potter to try to scam others. That's why you have to be so careful these days about what you buy. Especially if you are buying online.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:52 PM EST
Wizard
Points: 523
one of the marauders says:
Yeah for real those people are pretty dumb but i dont know i gusse they thought they could make money off them or something .
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:53 PM EST
Witch
Points: 972
Professor Granger says:
Cool new updates! I bet she is right about that not being the last scam though. But if she is wrong I would like to place first dibs on the HBP manuscript! That would be a good thing to get in the mail instead of bills all the time.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 7:57 PM EST
Auror
Points: 2976
Apollyon Pringle says:
I wouldn't want an e-book anyway! I'd rather have the real thing in my hands knowing it's true! Plus, the wait is what makes it so great...
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 8:01 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 2nd Class
Points: 1636
bubblenut21 says:
Well, personally I wouldn't buy a book on the internet in the first place! (unless there was no other possible way to get it!) I'm glad that she has assured us and all!
*bubblenut21*
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 8:13 PM EST
Seer
Points: 15207
Brittany Radcliffe says:
You should NEVER trust any Harry Potter e-books offered for download from the internet or on P2P/file-trading networks. Setting aside the fact that these books are illegal (there are no authorised HP e-books to date), they may infect your computer with viruses, leave you vulnerable to the dangers of hacking and/or credit card fraud and may also contain content that has nothing to do with Harry Potter, to say the least.
*makes a mental note of this*
now i know.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 8:26 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 4th Class
Points: 1266
AsiaLovesHP says:
I would have never read on the internet because I much rather read it in the form of a book :) Good she pointed it out...I'm really happy she finally updated her page!! I always like going to the Extra Stuff
I must go and do some reading now**..!!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 8:26 PM EST
Head Girl
Points: 412
FantasticalHP says:
Im surprised she updated the site so soon after giving birth. She is a champ. I love her so much. I cant wait for HBP to come out though.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 8:31 PM EST
Princess of the Heliopaths
Points: 5276
Ginny Weasly says:
I'm glad that she's telling fans to watch out. I really hope that no other harry potter fan falls for this scam. Like moody and JKR says..."CONSTANT VIGILANCE!!" *laughs*
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 8:37 PM EST
Witch
Points: 718
Hedwig,express says:
That was well said. People should not put stuff like that out for public.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 8:41 PM EST
Muggle
Points: 74
Hermione4 says:
Yeah, that's not cool that people would do something like that! But I definitely appreciate Jo's quick response and everything to let us all know what's going on!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 8:47 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 1st Class
Points: 1827
Lady Leo says:
Im glad I read this. I would never download anything that said it were a Harry Potter book that hasnt been released yet. Im glad the site was closed down. Prevents problems to read this article.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 8:55 PM EST
Witch
Points: 657
siriusluv says:
That's great! I love it when JKR updates her website, even when it's something small. The e book scam was stupid but predictable.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 9:27 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 3rd Class
Points: 1574
Polgara7 says:
I wish they would fine these people who did this and charge them with fraud and anything else they can think of.
There are many naive people out there who would fall for this kind of thing. They shouldn't have to feel bad for being a HP fan who is trusting and over eager.
The people who do these things are bottom feeders who are willing to take advantage of the less than wordly wise.
It is unkind to insult the victims of this scam. Many of them were probably kids who just don't understand that there are evil, manipulative people out there.
Shame should be on the perpetrators of this crime, not the victims.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 9:30 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 2nd Class
Points: 1600
jenn007a says:
I hate people that want to try to trick fans just to get money. It is so sick. But it is good thing that we are well informed. Thanks!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 9:30 PM EST
Student
Points: 227
ObsessedFan says:
I'm surprised that JKR actually updated this soon. I love her updates. It's nice know that she knows so much about what's out on the internet.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 9:31 PM EST
Professor
Points: 1159
Ron friend says:
Well thats good that all of the HP fan sites like HPANA did a good job letting it be known about the scams and so did Jo. Yay im super excited for the book this summer!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 9:32 PM EST
Auror
Points: 2046
Lisa Diggory says:
Taht really stinks... waiting for July is half the fun.... OOOO I love it when she updates...
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 9:34 PM EST
Lady of Godric's Hollow
Points: 5292
GodricsGirl says:
I can't believe anyone actually believed this!
Do people really think she would just drop all her security measures and allow a copy of book six to float around on the net?
Come on...think like the multi-celled organisms you are, folks!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 9:35 PM EST
Dark Arts Professor
Points: 3747
Ivy St.Claire says:
I know someone who has a "copy" of HBP that he downladed. He said that is seems pretty believable to him, but, then again, he isn't the brightest bulb on the Christmas tree. I tried to warn him, but if it makes him feel special....
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 10:06 PM EST
Points: 3723
emma'shockeyplayer says:
ONe question? Why? and bet you i already know the answer... so dont bother.... its a waste to even try before the release date... so dont do it. plain and simple.... and the new witch is cool...
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 10:07 PM EST
Squib
Points: 160
caschp says:
cool! I just read it! Very intresting!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 10:20 PM EST
Professor
Points: 1080
hippiejane says:
I couldn't live with myself if I read a fake or stolen HP book, those people who start it up are pathetic. They should feel ashamed of themselves !
CONSTANT VIGILANCE! (I love that term)
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 10:28 PM EST
Back to top of page