
JANUARY 31, 2005 at 10:54 PM
Posted by GERI
Source: JKRowling.com
Harry Potter author JK Rowling has updated her official web site with comments relating to the Harry Potter e-book scam that happened recently. She has also squashed a rumor
about her home in Edinburgh as well as updating her Extra Stuff
page with an item about owls.
Rowling on the e-book scam
:
As many of you will know from reputable Harry Potter fan sites who reported this story, a site called www.harrybooks.info (now closed) has been offering what it alleged to be an e-book version of 'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince' - my thanks go to the Leaky Cauldron, in particular, for promptly warning fans what was going on.
You should NEVER trust any Harry Potter e-books offered for download from the internet or on P2P/file-trading networks. Setting aside the fact that these books are illegal (there are no authorised HP e-books to date), they may infect your computer with viruses, leave you vulnerable to the dangers of hacking and/or credit card fraud and may also contain content that has nothing to do with Harry Potter, to say the least.
I would bet the original manuscript of HPB itself that this will not be the last attempt to con HP fans before the publication of book six on 16th July. Please, please protect yourselves, your computers and your credit cards and do not fall for these scams. The only genuine copies of Harry Potter remain the authorised traditional book or audio tapes/cassettes/CDs distributed through my publishers. Similarly, the only sources of release news you should trust are this website or official spokespeople such as representatives of my publishers or agent (details in 'Links section). CONSTANT VIGILANCE!
UPDATE: Rowling has also added
a new Wizard of the Month: Artemisia Lufkin (1754 – 1825) First witch to become Minister for Magic.
Reader Comments (212)
Your Thoughts
click to write...
Copyright © 2002-2009 HPANA. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. ![]()
HPANA is an unofficial fan site, in no way affiliated with J.K. Rowling,
Scholastic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing or Warner Bros. Entertainment. All
trademarks and copyrighted material are the property of their respective owners.
About HPANA | Movie 6 | Send a news tip | Contact us | Privacy policy
Head Girl
Points: 418
shimmeraei says:
Shouldn't folks really realize that only JK and her publishers have any sort of copy? And they're assuredly being payed way more than would ever be offered to bribe them into letting someone get their hands on a copy for people to be viewing online. (Crazies, you can't fool us intelligent HP fans!)
Posted Feb 16, 2005 at 9:23 PM EST
The Fifth Marauder
Points: 2771
Curious Werewolf says:
People can be so thick sometimes! I wouldn't read an electronic version, however tempting it looks! I'd know how wrong and stupid it would be!
Posted Feb 17, 2005 at 2:08 PM EST
Witch
Points: 911
Rasial says:
It is really awful that anyone would use Harry Potter to rip people off. I think that security around the release of HBP will be at least as good as with OotP. I don't expect any copies will be available early.
Posted Feb 18, 2005 at 2:27 AM EST
Muggle
Points: 41
Dark Lady says:
That's pretty pathetic, ripping off people like that. Though I must agree, nobody should be so oblivious to buy an e-book version of a Harry Potter book that isn't released yet, on some dodgy website that isn't linked to JKR.
Posted Feb 27, 2005 at 5:18 AM EST
Harry's Soul-Mate
Points: 3337
Lea says:
I liked the update about OWLS in Extra Stuff!!! -she changed it a few days later, adding more information, very interesting!!! :) :) :)
Posted Feb 27, 2005 at 7:34 PM EST
Witch
Points: 811
HermioneB says:
Yeah... I haven't bothered pre-ordering or anything.. I can't wait to go to the bookstore and just fight for it the old fashion way! :) I'm having a tough time waiting too.. but I'v made it this far... 130 more days (in counting) won't kill me.. I hope! :)
Posted Mar 3, 2005 at 6:27 PM EST
Student
Points: 216
Jassymine says:
I only just found out about this after i read it!!!!! I feel sorry for the people who got scammed though.
Posted Mar 12, 2005 at 1:49 AM EST
Obsessive Genius
Points: 3175
FeeLinG_bLuE says:
I hate it when people cheat others to make money. =[ I hope no one falls for this. Just go and buy the real thing! =]
Posted Mar 12, 2005 at 1:12 PM EST
Student
Points: 286
whitemoonwolf says:
It is stupid, really! I just cant get over some of the stupidity some people poses! If you do something like this, you are bound to be caught!! It is bound to surface somewhere, somehow! As for those who feel for it, i am sorry!!! I do hope you get your money back. But from now on, go to JK's website or here, hpana to get the real story about stuff like this.
Posted Mar 23, 2005 at 12:01 PM EST
Squib
Points: 105
Padfoot369 says:
Yeah I agree Whitemoonwolf, those are the only Harry Potter websites you can trust
Posted Mar 31, 2005 at 9:32 AM EST
Muggle
Points: 33
Mz. Granger says:
I can understand why people could fall for that. I know I almost did, until I started doing some more research. I went to the official site too. There's some people right now selling HP ebooks on Ebay, even the new one.
Posted Apr 5, 2005 at 5:47 AM EST
The Chosen One
Points: 9942
Gryffindor Dude says:
People who create all these scams need to go out and get a life or a girlfriend. Something to keep them from causing trouble.
Posted Jul 10, 2005 at 2:44 AM EST
Back to top of page