
JANUARY 31, 2005 at 10:54 PM
Posted by GERI
Source: JKRowling.com
Harry Potter author JK Rowling has updated her official web site with comments relating to the Harry Potter e-book scam that happened recently. She has also squashed a rumor
about her home in Edinburgh as well as updating her Extra Stuff
page with an item about owls.
Rowling on the e-book scam
:
As many of you will know from reputable Harry Potter fan sites who reported this story, a site called www.harrybooks.info (now closed) has been offering what it alleged to be an e-book version of 'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince' - my thanks go to the Leaky Cauldron, in particular, for promptly warning fans what was going on.
You should NEVER trust any Harry Potter e-books offered for download from the internet or on P2P/file-trading networks. Setting aside the fact that these books are illegal (there are no authorised HP e-books to date), they may infect your computer with viruses, leave you vulnerable to the dangers of hacking and/or credit card fraud and may also contain content that has nothing to do with Harry Potter, to say the least.
I would bet the original manuscript of HPB itself that this will not be the last attempt to con HP fans before the publication of book six on 16th July. Please, please protect yourselves, your computers and your credit cards and do not fall for these scams. The only genuine copies of Harry Potter remain the authorised traditional book or audio tapes/cassettes/CDs distributed through my publishers. Similarly, the only sources of release news you should trust are this website or official spokespeople such as representatives of my publishers or agent (details in 'Links section). CONSTANT VIGILANCE!
UPDATE: Rowling has also added
a new Wizard of the Month: Artemisia Lufkin (1754 – 1825) First witch to become Minister for Magic.
Reader Comments (212)
click to read...
Your Thoughts
click to write...
Copyright © 2002-2009 HPANA. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. ![]()
HPANA is an unofficial fan site, in no way affiliated with J.K. Rowling,
Scholastic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing or Warner Bros. Entertainment. All
trademarks and copyrighted material are the property of their respective owners.
About HPANA | Movie 6 | Send a news tip | Contact us | Privacy policy
Points: 824
Deathly Hollows says:
cool! I just read it! Very intresting!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 3:25 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 4th Class
Points: 1347
Ripley Turner says:
It's so stupid for people to put on scams like that. I know that it's hard to wait until July for the book to come out, but I get the feeling that its going to be well worth the wait.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 3:26 PM EST
Professor
Points: 1098
LilyP says:
JKR -
Thank you, thank you! We love the updates! I hope people are smart enough to listen and not fall for the scam. I'd hate to hear of anyone getting taken by these frauds!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 3:38 PM EST
Heir of Slytherin
Points: 5499
Spazzingduck says:
It's stupid that anyone would ever do that, and, pardon me if this sounds harsh, it's just a stupid that anyone would fall for it.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 3:39 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 3rd Class
Points: 1417
Ravenclawgrrr says:
Isn't it sad what some people will do to scam others out of money?! I think the worst part of it is that most HP fans are kids who are dying for any info on Harry's saga. It's just wrong to scam old people and kids!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 3:45 PM EST
Witch
Points: 563
*unspeakable* says:
I strongly agree that scamming people is such an aweful thing to do! Although I, like everyone else, can't wait for the release of the book, we all have to remember that the book is coming out on JULY 16th, and no sooner!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 3:50 PM EST
Head Boy
Points: 487
RickyRicardo says:
Hum. Well we should never trust anything that doesn't come out of J.K. Rowling's website, and I do mean never. It would be a very bad idea.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 3:51 PM EST
Keeper of Harry's Fate
Points: 8934
TheOneWhoMustBeNamed says:
I am really glad to see her do this. It helps keep problems down. It also shows she cares about her fans and does not want to see them victimized. Of course it helps her as well, since only legitimate books are sold, but I think all benefit in the long run.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 3:51 PM EST
Squib
Points: 140
Dark Lord DiG says:
People should realize that e-books are scam's anyway. Good for you Jo for coming out and telling people that straight out. Your books RULE ALL!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 3:53 PM EST
Vader's Veela
Points: 3858
seekerfan says:
Well, nice of her to give an "official" warning on the matter. Of course, the people smart enough to go on her website (or the fansites) wouldn't be conned by such a scam. Hopefully, the larger media will pick up on the story to warn those who aren't as up to speed.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 3:54 PM EST
Auror
Points: 2767
Professor Grubbly-Plank says:
I sure hope that everyone takes her advice about downloading things of the internet. If it is too good to be true don't do it.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:01 PM EST
Headless Hunt Captain
Points: 2887
Dark_Wizard_Chaser says:
It's good to know that JKR looks out for her fans. Some of the stuff available of the internet nowadays is very untrustworthy.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:04 PM EST
Brightest Witch
Points: 3111
hermione_rox. says:
Cool, An Update! I am very glad JK is doing something about this and has told us personally that none of this is permitted(licensed) and it was all a scan. The other updates are also interesting.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:05 PM EST
Squib
Points: 195
The Veil says:
I am really impressed with how JKR handles rumors. It's also very touching that she put's so much concern out for her devoted fans!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:06 PM EST
Happy Anarchy Camper
Points: 4620
Ruby Soho says:
I'm glad that she is posting this on her website. It puts a definite no on whether or not that ebook was for real or not, and it probably prevents alot of impressionable people from being scammed.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:10 PM EST
Prefect
Points: 366
GryffindorsBeauty says:
Now shes saying it people shouildedt buy them good they closed the website up. they desirve it after riping people off.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:11 PM EST
Squib
Points: 133
GrednForge says:
Nice of Jo to update her site. My cousin told me last christmas that a firend of his had the first chapter of HBP. I didn't believe it, so i aksed him to send it to me for a few laughs
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:11 PM EST
Wizard
Points: 565
hermionelover says:
yea blck 23 ur rite bout 1 thing... shes devoted but too bad it Jo not Joe... Joe is a guys name duh! Also who are you to tell people to wait. Sometimes it is fun 2 see what people wrote on their own fake stories.. BUT I agree with Jo that really we shouldn't!:D
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:16 PM EST
Points: 824
Deathly Hollows says:
Geri
She has also updated her Extras page and her Rubbish bin page, I liked her note on the Rubbish Bin Page! She's hillarious! I adore her!
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:17 PM EST
Student
Points: 235
Celedora says:
I'm glad she's feeling well enough to update her website so soon after having her baby. I'm looking forward to reading her updates.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:19 PM EST
Auror
Points: 2042
Catz says:
Thanks for the update JKR. HOpefully we'll get the pole results soon too.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:19 PM EST
Professor
Points: 1130
Billerina says:
It is very stupid. Who would fall for that? Only dumb people.Nobody can get it till july 16, 2005. so just wait.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:19 PM EST
Student
Points: 217
Wondrous Wing says:
Those people behind these fake books are really pathetic. I wouldn't trust any electronic Harry Potter stories.
Oh, I like her updates :P
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:25 PM EST
Auror
Points: 2465
undisputed760 says:
Thats pretty pathetic when people have to make up scams like that that innocent children can fall victim to. Thats sad.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:31 PM EST
Minister of Disinformation
(Moderator)
Points: 9657
Geri says:
Grsillpuff -- That's note in the story already, thanks.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:40 PM EST
Order of Merlin, 2nd Class
Points: 1726
MissLissyWeasley says:
I like her updates ^_^ It's cool that she still has time to update her website, even though I bet she's really busy right now.
Posted Jan 31, 2005 at 4:48 PM EST
Back to top of page